2010 CFDA Nominees Announced

March 18, 2010 • Fashion


The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and honorees were announced. 

This year’s nominees for Womenswear Designer of the Year are Donna Karan, Marc Jacobs and Alexander Wang. Jacobs, Proenza Schouler’s Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez and Alexis Bittar will be competing for the Accessory Designer of the Year award. This year’s Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Michael Kors.

The Swarovski Award, which recognizes emerging talent, will be decided between Prabal Gurung, Joseph Altuzarra and Jason Wu for women’s wear.

Diane von Furstenberg is set to take on a third, two-year term as president of the organization. The Council of Fashion Designers is currently meeting to change the current 16 year bylaw that put a two term restriction for presidents. Von Furstenberg will now serve until Dec. 31, 2012. 

“[The board] unanimously asked me to stay another two years and I said yes,” she said. “I am happy that they love me and I love them. There is so much more to do and we’re doing it.”

The event will take place at the Lincoln Center in New York on June 7.

-Taneisha Jordan

Source: WWD.com


See the Top Ten Summer 2016 Trends for Women Over 40

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply