Today’s Fashion Headlines: Wednesday, May 29, 2013

May 29, 2013 • Fashion Blog, Fashion News

A Chanel personalized Suzy clutch

A personalized “Suzy” clutch by Chanel

Christie’s will Auction Suzy Menkes’ Wardrobe

Suzy Menkes will part with some treasured pieces in July with an online auction at Christie’s London. Menkes is a veteran journalist who was recently named fashion editor of the soon-to-debut International New York Times. Items up for bidding include dresses by Christian Lacroix, suits from Yves Saint Laurent, printed numbers from Ossie Clark, Hermès silk scarves and shirts, and a quilted Chanel clutch with “SUZY” written in gold letters. There will be over 80 pieces in all and bidding will take place from July 11 to July 22. According to Christie’s, the star of Menkes’s wardrobe is a Yves Saint Laurent cocktail jacket from the designer’s 1980 Le Soleil collection.

“I have never thrown anything out of my wardrobe since 1964,” Menkes said. “If I had a large open space in my home, I would dedicate it, like an art gallery, to my collection. But there is something sad about clothes laid in a tomb of trunks. They need to live again, and this auction provides the opportunity for them to walk out in the sunshine, to dance the night away and to give someone else the joy that they gave to me.”

The Nominees for the CFDA Awards Revealed

With the prestigious CFDA Awards coming up on Monday, June 3, here’s a refresher of some of the nominees. Womenswear Designer of the Year and Accessory Designer of the Year could go to Alexander Wang or Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler. Marc Jacobs is up for Womenswear Designer of the Year and Phillip Lim is gunning for Accessory Designer of the Year. The Menswear Designer of the Year category could go to Thom Browne, Michael Bastain, or Steven Cox and Daniel Silver for Duckie Brown.

Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty for Suno, Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs for Cushnie Et Ochs, and Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind are all nominated for the Swarovski Womenswear award. The Swarovski Menswear award will go to Todd Snyder, Tim Coppens, or Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne for Public School. Jewelry designers Irene Neuwirth, Jennifer Meyer, and Pamela Love are all up for the Swarovski Accessories award.

2013 CFDA Fashion Awards Presenters Announced

The presenters for the CFDA Fashion Awards have been announced. Andy Cohen will host the ceremony and Ralph Lauren will give the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to Vera Wang, who once worked for him. Jessica Chastain will present the International Award to Riccardo Tisci. The Womenswear Designer of the Year award will be presented by Kerry Washington and Linda Evangelista will give the Media Award to Tim Blanks. The presenter of the Founder’s Award for Oscar de la Renta is yet to be decided, but rumors are swirling that it will be Hillary Rodham Clinton.

– Claire Mykrantz

Source & Image: WWD

See the Top Ten Summer 2016 Trends for Women Over 40

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply