Designers. Rick Owens Rocks the Cooper-Hewitt 2007 National Design Awards. Second City Style Fashion Blog

Fountain of 30

May 21, 2007 • Fashion



Owensphoto Owens307

In anticipation of Second Annual National Design Week to be held Oct. 14-20, the Cooper-Hewitt announced the winners of eighth annual National Design Awards with Rick Owens snagging first prize for Fashion Design.

Originally from southern California, Owens currently bases his practice in Paris, where he oversees his own women’s wear line. Using a minimalist palette to accentuate his sculptural designs, Owens’ edgy design sensibility brings a raw, modern elegance to women’s fashion. Infused with a sense of drama, his work has been noted for its masterful use of draping and asymmetrical cut. Owens’ approach to design, while inspired by the workmanship of couture, retains a consciously unfinished quality. Shortly after his first show in New York, he was given the CFDA Perry Ellis Award for Emerging Talent in 2002. Owens also served as artistic director for the French fur house Revillon from 2002 through 2006.

Finalists in the fashion design category are Phillip Lim, whose 3.1 phillip lim women’s wear collection has received critical acclaim since its debut in fall 2005 for its aesthetic of understated, effortless elegance; and Narciso Rodriguez, whose elegantly minimal women’s clothing line has captured widespread admiration for its sensual tailoring and exquisite craftsmanship. Rodriguez was a 2003 and 2004 finalist in this category. — Joanne Molina for Second City Style

For more information go to:

Facebook Comments


Leave a Reply